Short ‘n’ healthful: why cherry concentrate might make you a better athlete.

Uncategorized
A recent scientific study, has shown that it might be time to pop your cherry juice cherry. Yes, ladies and gentlemen, it appears that drinking cherries may make you a better athlete; maybe even a better person if Lance Armstrong is anything to go by.
pop__goes_the_cherry_by_makkan
In this cherry of a study, 16 cyclists were randomly split into two groups. One group drank 35mL of Montmorency tart cherry concentrate twice daily for eight days, while the other group consumed a similar tasting placebo drink. Yummy!  On the fifth day both groups completed an intense cycling session replicating road race demands.  
Following the intense cycling, the group that consumed the cherry juice supplement did not exhibit a decrease in muscle strength, or cycling economy, while the placebo group did.  Additionally, markers of DOMs were lower in the cherry juice group.  
Cherry-Capital-Cycling-Club-color-259x300
All in all, this was by no means an awesome study, but it suggests that regular cherry juice supplementation might improve recovery and if you cycle, run, or play any sport at a competitive level it may provide you with a slight edge over those damned opponents of yours. We’ll provide a more comprehensive review on the topic at the end of the week, but for the time being consider this an appetiser.
Our verdict: slightly healthful (based on weak data).
I hope this has been healthful. Your thoughts?
20 thoughts on “Short ‘n’ healthful: why cherry concentrate might make you a better athlete.

  1. In general the anti- inflammatory properties seem to offer some benefit. Just like anything healthy, one must always be aware of the down side. Potential side-effects of tart cherry juice include abdominal discomfort and diarrhea, blamed on its relatively high sorbitol content, according to Baylor College of Medicine. The juice may also affect your weight: A 1-cup serving of tart cherry juice contains 140 calories. Many people believe if a little is good, a lot is great.
    I agree with you. There are some benefits for most people. It is NOT a magic bullet and should be viewed as an additional fruit serving.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. When I bicycled, I did not compete. I rode between 40 and 60 miles per ride on average. I did not know about anti-inflammatory foods at that time. Most of my exercise today is indoor. I train with weights 4 days/week and cardio 4-5days/week. The population has grown to a point where outdoor riding is too dangerous. There are no bike lanes so you have to share the actual roads with cars.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. It worries me to hear that, Jonathan. Melbourne, Australia is becoming more and more populated and I can see a similar trend. Although, they do seem to be doing something about the infrastructure.

        Sounds like you’ve got a pretty well rounded program there! As I think I’ve said to you before, I’m a physio and exercise scientist in Aus and my experiences of the healthcare system very much mirror yours – treat the symptoms, not the cause. It’s sad.

        Liked by 1 person

      1. Feel free to call me Jonathan. JNC are my initials; the = the; DC was my professional degree (doctor of chiropractic). My riding days are on hold until I move to a new area where cycling is more friendly. I live near Charlotte, NC and the population (from when I first moved here) has grown from 7000 to nearly 60,000. The infra-structure has NOT grown with the population making the streets horribly overcrowded.

        Like

Leave a Reply

